Welcome to the STEP Seminar

If you have a research interest compatible with the research performed within STEP and would like to participate in our seminar series, please contact Henrik Román.

Research Unit for Studies in Educational Policy and Educational Philosophy (STEP)

The research group STEP – Studies in Educational Policy and Educational Philosophy – was established in 2000. STEP performs studies on socialization, bildung, specifically focusing knowledge organization, selection and legitimization in different educational institutions, spanning from pre-school to higher education.  Our research addresses the interplay between education policy, practice, and research. Curriculum theory is a fundamental theoretical frame of reference. We take an interest in change and continuity in education and its framing conditions, not least with respect to how economic, legal and cultural changes affect education policy, research and practice. This includes an interest in educational philosophical matters such as equity, sustainable development, rights/obligations and justice. Our research is grounded in internationally established curriculum and governance theories, comprising institutional, comparative, historical and spatial analyses of different kinds of education arenas. STEP is involved in a number of research projects within five main areas:

  • Educational policy and research
  • Assessment and evaluation as practices and governing tools
  • Governing, management and leadership
  • School practice and content
  • Higher education

STEP currently (2017) consists of professors, readers, senior lecturers, doctoral students, and a number of associate members from Uppsala and other Swedish and Nordic universities.


Professor Eva Forsberg, Reader Barbara Schulte, and Senior lecturer Henrik Román, who is also the coordinator of STEP. Professor Emeritus Ulf P Lundgren is Senior advisor.


Henrik Roman


Eva Forsberg, Barbara Schulte, Henrik Román, Ulf P Lundgren, Andreas Bergh, Stina Hallsén, Marie Karlsson, Daniel Pettersson, Wieland Wermke, Sara Levander, Joel Jansson, Judit Novak, Leo Berglund, Tatiana Michailova, John Cunningham, Gustaf Jansson Bjurhammer, Jamshid Karami, Maria Rosén.

Associated members

Petter Aasen, Carl-Henrik Adolfsson, Maja Elmgren, Andreas Nordin, Tine S. Prøitz, Lars Geschwind, Christina Elde Mølstad, Johanna Ringarp, Daniel Sundberg, Linda Eriksson, Hans Nytell, Daniel Nordholm.


STEP is engaged in several international and national networks: Nordic Curriculum Theory Network, Nordic Network for Studies in Academic Development Activities and the national educational history network. STEP cooperates with many different research environments, such as CLEG (Curriculum Studies, Leadership and Educational Governance, UiO), SPLP (Studies in Professional Development, Learning and Policy), POP (Pedagogik och Politik, GU), ECE (KTH School of Education and Communication in Engineering Science, KTH), SEP (Studies in Educational Policy, HiG), Education and Democracy (OrU) and SITE (Studies in Curriculum theory and Educational reforms,  LnU).


Our members teach in the subject of education at the first, second, and third cycles (bachelor, master, and doctoral levels). 

The members of STEP also teach first-cycle courses in the Teaching and Preschool Teaching study programmes, in the Study Programme for Principals, as well as courses for exchange students. In addition, STEP is involved in courses on educational leadership in the university.


2015 fyllde professor Eva Forsberg 60 år. För att uppmärksamma detta sammanställdes vänboken "Att ta utbildningens komplexitet på allvar. En vänskrift till Eva Forsberg.".

Klicka här för att komma till boken